Battlefield 3 & DICE are Worrying Me A Bit

20 Oct

Battlefield 3, the new military First Person Shooter from DICE, is due out next week on the PS3, Xbox 360, and PC and I’ve already got mine pre-ordered.  It is my hope that Newegg has the product already and is shipping it today to guarantee I have it time, but I doubt it.  I won’t fret over that, but the recent news about the 360 version has me a bit concerned.

Battlefield 3 on the Xbox 360 will have a Hard Drive Install option to the High-Res Texture Pack available on one of the two disks shipped with the game.

In an interview with Gamerzines, BF3’s Executive Producer leaked some, but not all the details:

“There’s nothing magic about it. “It’s the same thing we do for PC and PS3, so there’s nothing extra….It does make a difference, yes, absolutely. The whole engine is based around streaming textures, streaming terrain and a lot of other content…The thing with the 360 is that you need to be able to give consumers a game where you don’t have to install it on a hard drive, because there are 360s without a hard drive. So we need to give you the option of installing it, rather than just demanding it. You could call it a ‘standard-def’ version for the 360 if you don’t have a hard-drive.”

That’s the end of the so-called details though and that’s where I’m a bit concerned.  I want to play the game at its best on a 360 and I do have a hard drive, but only 20GB, which only yields about 12GB of real space.  The last line of the quote, “if you don’t have a hard drive” is a promising, but if you’re not aware, RAGE, another new shooter allowing an install for better graphics needs 22GB of space for its optimal settings.  So, I’ve searched high and low and posed questions to DICE, but at this time I don’t have answers.  Will I need to just clear out all the demos off my 20GB HD or do I need to pick up a 60GB or 120GB expansion?

As someone that is truly excited about the game, I’m trusting that it doesn’t disappoint like Black Ops did.  For all Black Ops did right in new map designs, eliminating some of the obscene Killstreak problems, and new match options, they missed on almost all of the local split screen offerings that would’ve made the game our go to party game.  No matter my concern over BF3, it doesn’t come close to my skepticism over Modern Warfare 3.  Sledgehammer Games is developing MW3 alongside some Infinity Ward rejects so I have no idea what to expect from the game.  The guys that made COD great are long gone and I’m not familiar at all with anything Sledgehammer has done prior to now.

Are you ready for next week?  Are you as concerned about the 360 version and the need for HD space as I am?

Leave a Reply

