I’ve Taken the POST A DAY Challenge to prep for NaNoWriMo

17 Oct

I’ve had a note sitting on my desk for nearly two years with two little lines on it that are words to live by:

“Actors Should Act.  Writers Should Write.”

As a self-proclaimed, minimally successful, actor and writer, those lines mean to inspire me to pursue two of my talents and passions daily.  Alas, I’ve hardly acted since 2008 and though I was working on a screenplay, it’s been sitting stuck at 80 pages and two acts for quite some time.  So what to do about this?

How about taking an arbitrary challenge liking writing a random blog post every day?  Sounds simple enough.  I have to think I can find time daily to jot down a few thoughts to keep pace, but it wasn’t a high enough goal for me, but the National Novel Writing Month challenge seemed more my speed.  A nearly overwhelming challenge of writing 1,700 words daily to reach 50,000 words and a 170 plus paged novel (in desperate need of editing) at the end the month.

To go from nothing to 1,700 a day seemed a reach so here we go on a simple task of writing a daily post for two weeks, while also preparing outlines and notes for my novel.

I know it won’t be easy, but it’ll be fun, and as anyone who knows me and how much I tend to ramble, I can find something to write about every hour so every day should quiet me down a little.

I am going to use oThe DailyPost, and the community of other bloggers with similiar goals, to help me along the way, including asking for help when I need it and encouraging others when I can.

I hope you join me on this journey.  I will post some, if not all, of my novel next month, and still include daily ramblings.  I certainly welcome your comments, opinions, suggestions, insight, and well thought out reactions to my various opinions and analysis.  Okay, they don’t have to all be well thought out as not all of my postings will have hours of research and analysis behind them.

Have a blessed day.

Ryan Schulze

Leave a Reply

