A Rough Wednesday and Getting Back In Shape

14 Sep

Wednesday was a rough day.  Rough.  Had this been a decade ago when the gym was the most important thing in my life, it would’ve been easier.  You see Tuesday night I went out with the guys.  One of my friends is getting his feet wet in stand up comedy and I went to support him and see him perform.  As we pull up to the club, my first question is, “Anybody know what they have to eat here?”  I wasn’t looking for health food, but since my mind is occupied all day long with being a Daddy to two little girls, I don’t always eat when I should.  Or what I should.  Anyway, turns out, only alcohol at this club.  On an empty stomach.  And I’m 38 and haven’t partied in quite a while.  So, two stout beers over a couple hours and I was feeling good, but in desperate need of food to absorb the poison.

Therein lies one of the problems of living in North County.  The whole region practically shuts down after 10pm on a weeknight and though I like that most days, it didn’t serve me well Tuesday night.  We found a Denny’s and I had something smothered in cheese and gravy and talked with the guys until after midnight.  I was finally sober and took back control of my car and got us home.  Good thing I was sober, because as soon as I walked in, I could hear little feet running back and forth upstairs.  My 2 ½ year old, Leilani, likes to come sleep with my wife and I and Jocelyn, the 6 month old, when she wakes up in the middle of the night.  And she has to have her pillow, stuffed animals, water, and more that she runs back and forth from room to room delivering.  So I ran upstairs and helped her get settled into bed with mommy.

Then I went downstairs to clean bottles, (we’re always cleaning bottles for the baby), and sat down on the sofa for a minute and yes, passed out.  4 AM.  That’s when I woke up, took the dog out, and headed to bed.  Leilani made sure I was up at 7 AM.  The three hours of bed rest wouldn’t be enough on a normal day to manage two little girls.  Add to that the alcohol and late night on Tuesday and, here’s the fitness thing, the new workout regime I started on Monday.  See, we’re heading to Tahoe in about a month and I want to be able to do some light hiking and I’m not nearly in the shape I used to be.  Plus, I need to be able to carry around a 23 pound 2 ½ year old on my back in a backpack.  So, I decided I needed to get prepared and I started taking walks with Jocelyn in a stroller, Leilani on my back, and the dog, Latte, on a leash.  First I hiked up and down the small hill behind our house about 10 times and then took off on an hour walk.  Too much for the second day in a week with the pack, but that’s me.  Pushed it a little too hard and though I felt fine on Tuesday, here comes that 2 day rule and the pain.  Luckily, I think I’m gonna be too busy to get in the backpack today, but Thursday’s on its way and I’ve gotta stick with my plan or my back and legs won’t be ready to seek the beauty in Tahoe.

Leave a Reply

